Artist: Judy Fox

Judy Fox 1

Judy Fox is a figurative sculptor who primarily sculpts children. They look like they are almost life size and they have an extremely strong presence. They are hyper-realistic, which is an aesthetic I admire and enjoy looking at. This style demonstrates and a high technical ability both in the use of the material, in this case ceramic, but also in the human anatomy.

Judy fox 2

Even her pieces which are not obviously human, such as the one above which is titled ‘Worm’, retain human characteristics. The form above appears to have a bum, spine and breasts. I do wonder if this was an intentional effect or whether its me seeing forms within the shape. I particularly like the way that this one has been coloured, though I am uncertain if it is a glaze or a cold finish.

 

I find researching artists like this a way of refining my own aesthetic as an artist and it broadens my idea of what exists, and what is possible with the mediums that interest me.

 

 

You can see more of her work here:

http://www.judyfox.net/

Leave a comment