Artist: Katie Cuddon

cuddon-2 cuddon-3 cuddon1

Cuddon recently participated in a group exhibition in the Chapter gallery called sticky intimacy. Her work is quite intriguing to me, as they take abstract forms yet remain bodies. For some pieces, this is quite obvious – two legs, a trunk and a blob on top which is like a head. I don’t think that this is a detrement to her practice, but I am more attracted to the pieces that do not have the literal human qualities, as I question what is about these forms that make them bodies, and not just geometry?

Of this, I am not entirely certain, but I think the handled texture – the lumps, bumps and folds, give it the skin-like qualities that one associates with bodies. It may also be that for the piece on the left, the addition of a material which looks like strips of hide also brings forth the idea of hair. This link between forms and bodies is one that I continue to poke at through my own practice.

See more of her work here: http://www.katiecuddon.com/

Leave a comment